f: X->Y is continous bijection

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.

f: X->Y is continous bijection

Post by 26186514 » Sat Sep 22, 2012 10:59 pm

I. If X is compact then Y is compact
II. If X is Hausdorff space then Y is Hausdorff space
II. If X is compact and Y is Hausdorff space then f^(-1) exist

Which are correct?

I am not good at topology, hope someone could help! Thx!

CoxZucker_Machine

Re: f: X->Y is continous bijection

Post by CoxZucker_Machine » Sun Sep 23, 2012 11:57 am

I. This is true. The continuous image of a compact set is compact. Take any open cover $$\{ V_\alpha \}$$ of Y. Then $$X \subseteq \bigcup f^{-1} (V_\alpha)$$ so $$\{ f^{-1} (V_\alpha) \}$$ is an open cover of X. Since X is compact, you can take a finite subcover $$\{ f^{-1} (V_i) \}_{i=1}^N$$. Then $$\{ V _i \}_{1}^N$$ covers Y. Thus any open cover of Y has a finite subcover.

II. This is false. Take the set {1,2,3}. Give it the discrete topology on X, and give it some non-Hausdorff topology on Y, e.g. with open sets {1,2,3}, {}, {1}, {2,3}. Then $$f: X \rightarrow Y$$ defined by f(1)=1, f(2)=2, f(3)=3 is a continuous bijection, since by the discrete topology every subset of X is open so $$f^{-1}(U)$$ is open for all U open in Y.

III. This is true. To prove that the inverse of f is continuous, we can show that the inverse of the inverse of f maps closed sets to closed sets. So we need to show that f(F) is closed for every closed subset F in X. Since F is a closed subset in a compact space X, then F is compact. Therefore by continuity, f(F) is compact, since the image of a compact set under a continuous map is compact. Since compact subsets of a Hausdorff space are closed, we have that f(F) is closed.

tcbh

Re: f: X->Y is continous bijection

Post by tcbh » Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:40 pm

Another counterexample for the 2nd one is that if the range has an indiscreet topology (which is non-Hausdorff), then the function is automatically continuous.