My sad story

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
Mustela nivalis

My sad story

Post by Mustela nivalis » Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:48 am

Dear collegues, let me talk about my attempts to earn good GRE Math scores.
I am a Physics major, I am a theorist, I was a student in a department when Mathematics is just a religion. I always was one of the bests students in Math in a level of understanding. I enjoyed calculus, DEs, algebra, geometry... However when I have a timed work, everything is changing drastically. I usually have too many blunders!.. On the other hand at home without time pressure I can do real magic. This allowed me to consider myself enough capable in Math.
I must say here that I have severe visual disabilities. It is a real problem. ETS gave me extended time (+50%) as an accommodation. But I failed both test I have attempted. First test was cancelled due to too many blank fields in the answer sheet, second was very disappointed (53 percentile). I do not even understand what is exactly my problem.
My goal is (or may be already was) to earn a PhD in Mathematics in some normal US university and then try to do an academia career. But I feel my chances are vague, in particular, because of my age. Now I am 30 years old
So, my questions are:
1) How to improve my score to 90+ percentile or it is impossible for me? I plan to retackle this test in April, 2019.
2) What are my chances in academia?

johanMo

Re: My sad story

Post by johanMo » Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:39 am

If you’re not planning to apply to Princeton or similarly ranked schools, 53% is fine. It’s certainly not going to help you, but if the rest of your application is solid then you still have a chance (assuming you’re not international)

Mustela nivalis

Post by Mustela nivalis » Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:50 am

johanMo wrote:assuming you’re not international
Unfortunately, I am international, from non-English speaking country. Is my English so good? )