Undergrad Junior Math Major Seeking Advice

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
ProspectiveMath951

Undergrad Junior Math Major Seeking Advice

Post by ProspectiveMath951 » Thu Jul 26, 2018 8:06 pm

Hello,

I am a community college student from California. I am going to Uc Irvine (decent school in California) this fall. I am interested in applied mathematics, specifically, probability, and also am interested in statistics.

Classes I will be taking next 2 years:
Linear Algebra (upper div.), Probability and stochastic process, probability and statistics, elementary analysis,complex analysis, abstract algebra, Real Analysis (graduate level course), possibly a research seminar course.

Then I have the choice to take some math electives such as numerical analysis, Partial differential equations, combinatorics, introduction to cryptology, introduction to number theory, mathematical modeling.

1. which classes should I take for math electives (that are more facilitated towards applied math phd and statistics phd)? I get to pick at least 2-3 of them.

2. Which schools will fully fund phd in statistics or applied math? Does it matter if I am an out-of-state resident, will they still provide fully fund?

3. When should I start preparing for GRE and Math GRE?

4. I was thinking about getting an REU next summer since I don't have much experience. Does this help on application at all? Also will me being Mexican improve my chances?

blackmaverick176

Re: Undergrad Junior Math Major Seeking Advice

Post by blackmaverick176 » Fri Jul 27, 2018 4:17 pm

Here are my thoughts:

1. You'll probably get the best advice from your adviser or a professor at your institution. Maybe you could take a grad course in probability after you've completed grad real analysis or look into some stats grad courses. Personally I'd just take whatever seems interesting.