Uncertain about the future and could use some advice

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
jplusip

Uncertain about the future and could use some advice

Post by jplusip » Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:15 pm

Hi guys,

I've been in college for about 8 years now and only 3 years ago discovered my love of mathematics. Unfortunately, this discovery came AFTER Calculus A and B, and prior to it I had no motivation or direction so I was an incredibly poor student. As a result of this, I got out of Cal A and B by the skin of my teeth and learned virtually nothing! This lead to a very bizarre year in which I made Cs in Differential Equations and Probability, but rocked out solid As in my Foundations of Math and Complex Analysis courses (and this very much threw off my advisor, since an A in Foundations of Math is generally no easy feat). Also during this time period and professor, wanting is Differential Geometry to make, got me into it, in which I did not do very well at all given my poor background. Thankfully, this final bad grade was a true wake up call, and since then, I've done everything I possibly can to improve myself as a mathematician. I worked through Courant's books to reteach myself Calculus, I've made strong As in Applied Linear Algebra, Fourier Analysis, Real Analysis, and Partial Differential Equations, and since my school's pure math is a bit weak I'm currently working through Rudin's "Principles of Mathematical Analysis" and Gemingnani's "Elementary Topology". I've also developed a strong passion for complex analysis and spend a considerable amount of time studying Markushevich, Ahlfors, and Krantz (since I want to move on to several complex variables).

Now, my school allows something called an "Academic Bankrupty", which I initially thought wiped out any record of courses taken before a designated point in time, but really all it did was not count courses towards my GPA from a certain point back, though the courses still show up on my transcript.