GRE Math Subject Score? Is 840 high enough?

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
chauchitrung1996

GRE Math Subject Score? Is 840 high enough?

Post by chauchitrung1996 » Fri May 11, 2018 5:02 am

My first time asking on this forum, so if I make any mistake or use the wrong word, please do not hesitate to say it.

Regarding my question, I received my GRE Math Subject Score today, which is 840 - 85 percentile. I want to ask if it is a high score? And would it be an edge for me if I achieve a 900 instead, so that I know whether I should take the September exam.

I am new at this applying to America, so it would be great if you guys give a detailed answer, maybe let's say I want to apply for Pure Math in Uni of Notre Dame or Princeton.

Thank you for your help.

starlord37

Re: GRE Math Subject Score? Is 840 high enough?

Post by starlord37 » Fri May 11, 2018 8:30 am

With an 840, if you get rejected from those schools or any schools for that matter, it won’t be because your GRE score wasn’t high enough. You should see the other thread on this site about GRE subject yet cutoff score info.

cater99

Post by cater99 » Fri May 11, 2018 1:08 pm

Agree, 830-84% here. I think this score wouldn't help nor hurt us. Focus more on GPA man.

djysyed

Post by djysyed » Fri May 11, 2018 5:51 pm

chauchitrung1996 wrote: I am new at this applying to America, so it would be great if you guys give a detailed answer, maybe let's say I want to apply for Pure Math in Uni of Notre Dame or Princeton.
Notre Dame and Princeton are in two different leagues entirely. A score of a 700 would be more than enough for Notre Dame. However, with places like Princeton, they look very heavily on how much original research you have published and your depth of your coursework. You would need to have taken reading courses at the level of second and third year graduate students before applying.

chauchitrung1996

Post by chauchitrung1996 » Sat May 12, 2018 4:13 am

djysyed wrote: