Profile eval for CS major masters applicant

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
not_an_engineer

Profile eval for CS major masters applicant

Post by not_an_engineer » Wed Sep 28, 2016 8:47 pm

Hi everyone,

I majored in CS, have been working 4 years in the software industry, and now applying to pure math masters programs (masters because I'm underqualified for PhD, though that is my eventual goal).
Would love to hear if anyone else made a similar switch! Also welcome general evaluations.

Undergrad Institution: Top 3 research university
Major(s): Computer Science, focus in Theory
GPA: 3.46
Type of Student: Domestic Hispanic female

GRE Revised General Test:
Q: 166 (91%)
V: 166 (97%)
W: 4.5 (82%)
GRE Subject Test in Mathematics:
Awaiting score from 9/17/16, planning to retake in October as well. Hoping for ~60%ile :?

Program Applying: Pure Math (Masters programs only!)

Research Experience: Contributor to publication on a software pilot study
Pertinent Activities or Jobs: 4 years working at top software company
Any Miscellaneous Points that Might Help: Math or math-related courses: calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, combinatorics, cryptography (number and group theory), set theory & complexity theory, first-order logic, algorithms.

Planning to apply to a wide range:
U British Columbia - MA Pure Math
U Michigan Ann Arbor - MS Pure Math
UC San Diego - MS Pure Math
U Washington - MS Pure Math
U Colorado Boulder - MA Pure Math
UC Santa Cruz - MA Pure Math

pat2211

Re: Profile eval for CS major masters applicant

Post by pat2211 » Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:18 pm