master student being admitted to a... master's program?

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
lecram

master student being admitted to a... master's program?

Post by lecram » Mon Apr 06, 2015 11:10 am

Hello,

I would like to ask for advice given my actual situation.
I am a master student from Germany, currently doing my master thesis under the supervision of a well-known mathematician in a well-known university.

The thing is that I did not take the GRE, since it was never my intention to apply outside of Europe.. but I ended up applying to a university in Canada because of the research in their department.
Long story short, after contacting some of the professors there and seeing that they were interested in me, I thought I would have a good shot at being accepted. Last month I heard back from them, but this time they said that the professor with whom I wanted to work with 'will not be able to take any more students'. That was a surprise because the professor never mentioned anything of that sort.. also, he never wrote me back. Anyway, the admissions committee sent me an email saying that there are no other professors offering a PhD position atm (they said I was 'waitlisted' for two professors though). In any case, they finally sent me an offer to their masters program (fully funded + TA).
That was a bit weird to me, since I am already doing a master degree; but they argued saying that I would need to take graduate courses during my PhD program anyway, and that I could as well get rid of these courses during my master at their university. (Again, weird, because if I already have graduate courses from my current university, I should be able to transfer them.)

In any case, seeing as this is the only university I have applied outside of Europe, I don't know what to make out of it. I have applied to other PhD programs in Europe (and still have to apply to others...), but I will not hear from them until May.. or even June!