Awful score

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
Pink Floyd

Awful score

Post by Pink Floyd » Wed Nov 27, 2013 3:28 pm

Hey guys,
Last year I got 580 (31%) with a week of studying, so I decided to retake the exam. This time I studied hard and I was completely satisfied with the last test. I was shocked when I saw my score, it's 570 (29%) :shock: . I don't know what to do, I am teaching these stuff around a decade, is it possible ETS has made a mistake? Is there anyway to ask for reconsideration? ETS has sent my score to 4 unis which I have had good response from Profs who encouraged me to apply. Is it possible to ask admission office not to consider my score till I send them new score? the next test is in April. I think this score completely ruined my plan for fall 2014. Any suggestion will be appreciated.

TheGR

Re: Awful score

Post by TheGR » Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:07 pm

There is a hand scoring option for which you pay $30. It is a provision for when a test taker thinks they may have received an incorrect score, though I am unaware of anyone who had their score changed this way. Do you think you may have made a bubbling mistake? (such as unintentionally forgetting to skip over the row of a question you did not want to answer)

shiki

Post by shiki » Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:29 pm

You can call ets center to complain about you score. I know for TOEFL test you may get a new score about that(it is also possible to get a lower score). I don't know if it is also the case for gre sub test. Good luck!

Sam_NYC

Post by Sam_NYC » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:49 pm

Unfortunately, it's unlikely ets made a mistake. However, as TheGR mentioned, there is a handscoring option.