HELP!! - Admission Prospect - Applied Mathematics

Forum for the GRE subject test in mathematics.
cybersilence

HELP!! - Admission Prospect - Applied Mathematics

Post by cybersilence » Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:47 am

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie to this forum.
I am an Indian student, majoring in Mathematics and Computing from Indian Institute of Technology.
I intend to pursue a PhD in Applied Mathematics(or related area like BioStatistics, Computational Mathematics)

My Profile is as follows :
1) I have a CGPA of 7.36/10.0 (a bit low)(the worst part...I have score 7/10 in most of my mathematics and applied mathematics courses.. which .. i know .. is really bad)
2) Though, I have 3 conference publications(2 international, 1 local) and 1 prospective journal Publication(Elsevier).
3) My research experience is good and I have worked on hot topics like Pseudospectral Methods and Ensemble Kalman Filtering during 2 summers(latest one at INRIA, Paris, France).
4) My B.Tech Project is on Multidimension Tensor Decomposition(which is a hot topic itself)
5) I would have some good ppl write my Letter of Recommendation as well :)

My GRE Score is :
Verbal : 157
Quant : 169
AWA : 4.0(54%)

TOEFL SCORE : Currently N/A
& I would be appearing for a Subject Test in Mathematics this October

I need your able guidance on the following points of doubt :(I have learnt from some earlier posts that you guys are really well informed and knowledgeable which mesmerized me into joining this forum)

Question 1)
I am targeting some most of the Tier 1 Universities which Include MIT, Stanford, NYU, Columbia, UCLA, UCB and others. But I am skeptical because I think my CGPA is too low for these institutes and I would face DIRECT REJECTION from the admission panel. Is it so? To what extent will my low grades damage my chances for an admit?

Question 2)
To what extent can the Subject GRE help me wash my sins(i.e bad grades) and get me accepted to these top notch institutes

Question 3)